> Home > About Auburn >  News and Notices > Auburn Emergency Management Volunteers honored for their service

News and Notices

Auburn Emergency Management Volunteers honored for their service

The City of Auburn Emergency Management Office recently presented Bronze Level Presidential Volunteer Service Awards to three volunteers for their dedicated service in 2012. Each volunteer donated a minimum of 100 hours of his or her time to Emergency Management activities. The award included a pin, a certificate, and a letter of congratulations signed by President Barack Obama.

The three recipients are:

  • Richard Lundstrom, 145 hours
  • Diane Costenbader, 170 hours
  • Mandy Rutherford, 120 hours

Each of the three volunteers are members of both the Community Emergency Response Team (CERT) and the Auburn Area Emergency Communications Team (EMCOMM) and regularly volunteer their time to attend training, assist with community events, deliver public education offerings, and assist with emergencies. In 2012, 214 individual volunteers donated a total of 4,127 hours to Auburn's Emergency Management program.

The Presidential Volunteer Service Award was established in 2003 as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service. The program is administered through the Corporation for National and Community Service.